Tags:
  1. Ian Yates

Ian Yates New Member

Using REAL PEOPLE in fiction

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Ian Yates, Mar 22, 2013.

I am quite new to writing, however have begun a lengthy project built upon an idea I had for a sci fi story.

I have written about 20 pages so far, however I have included several actual "famous" people including rock stars and politicians, who are a fundamental part of the story. There will be many towards the end... some are dead and some are living. These become interwoven with my fictional characters.

My question is, is there any reason I could end up in trouble if anybody referred to in the story ever saw the it?

It is not intentionally derogatory, in fact all but a few are hero's...

2. Nee

Nee Member

If you are just mentioning them, there is no problem. Like: "...And he thought he was so, Brad Pitt, that the two of them were going to do him, right there in the back seat..." as Koontz did in The Face. (that was paraphrasing). But if you are actually having them act and say things...you may want to run everything you have them doing or saying by a lawyer: just in case.

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

This is potentially very dangerous territory. DEFINITELY consult a lawyer.

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

yes, you should definitely consult a literary attorney if you have live famous folks interacting with your fictional characters and you don't have their written permission to do so...

5. Ian Yates

Ian Yates New Member

Thanks for that! So is it OK to use deceased characters?

There is potential to use only deceased characters, and to remove any living people... This might be a little trickier tho!

My cousin is a Lawyer... I've sent him a message, asking if he can help or has any suggestions.