1. arkadia

arkadia Member

ProwritingAid Premium Users - Discussion & Experiences

Discussion in 'Writing Software and Hardware' started by arkadia, Dec 26, 2022.

(Sorry mods if this is in the wrong sub forum - can't find a thread on this software)

As I researched Grammarly alternatives I found what I believe is a better product: ProWritingAid. Signed up for a year long subscription and was very impressed. It was a game changer and now I want to talk about it.

ProWritingAid was bursting with suggestions for how my scripts could be improved. Clearly structured and well explained. I learned things I wish they'd taught in school - and I'm still learning. This was revolutionary.

One area of improvements was particularly challenging: Sticky Index / Glue words.I did not even know what this was, but ProWritingAid's articles and videos explained why it's a problem. Turned out I'm a glue word junkie at >50% glue words, on average. Getting down to below 40% glue words is a time-consuming challenge. Have you experienced this?

Do you feel like ProwritingAid is helping you, or being too strict? Which areas have been struggles for you?

Last edited: Dec 26, 2022
  2. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

I've never found any of these to be any good... the issue with all of them that ive tried (HW, PWA, Autocrit and Grammarly) is that they've been programmed by literal minded wombats who aren't actually writers, so they are very black and white on adverbs bad, passive voice bad etc without any allowance for nuance.

Glue words are a classic case of this... you shouldn't be worrying about what proportion of glue words you have in your piece, but rather whether each sentence is either properly constructed or deliberately improperly constructed for character purposes.... focusing on eliminating glue words is wrong headed because often they are needed.