Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cockneyjay

cockneyjay New Member

In to the hands of the publisher.

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by cockneyjay, Apr 2, 2010.

Hey everyone. I'm totally new to all of this. I've just spent 2 years writing my first book and finally it's done. By done I mean it's the fifth and final draft and I'm struggling to see any way I can change it to improve it. It is what it is now.

After a lot of encouragement from my friends and also people I don't know (The professor of literature of cork university) I've decided to send it off and see exactly how good it is. The only problem is that I don't know how to.

The book is completely finished. Now what do I do with it? Do I need a cover letter? What type of things should it say? Should I send the whole book? How about a synopsis? How long should it be?

I've tried to look this kind of thing up but the answers I've found are confusing and don't really apply to my situation.

Can someone please help me out?

Thanks alot

Jay

2. TWErvin2

TWErvin2 Contributor Contributor

Jay,

First, you need to decide on whether you're going to seek an agent to represent your novel, or if you intend to submit directly to publishers.

There are advantages to having an agent, especially enabling access to markets that do not accept unsolicited submissions. But some would argue that it is more difficult to find an agent than an actual publisher. That's debatable, but certainly a reputable agent to represent an author's work isn't easy to do. Of course, just like with a publisher, the quality and content of the product are a big factor.

Agents, like publishers, are flooded with query letters and submissions.

Often you'll need a query letter/cover letter and a brief synopsis. And it's important that these are at least as well-written as the novel or you won't get past the first hurdle.