1. WriterodLife1994

WriterodLife1994 Member

How long would the surgery take?

Discussion in 'Research' started by WriterodLife1994, Aug 17, 2015.

In my current story, a main character was shot twice in the chest with a long range rifle, it collapsed his lung, tore through several major blood vessels, and broke several of his ribs, how long would it take doctors to repair the damage? It needs to be at least three and a half hours to allow for the plot so if it's shorter than that, what other damage can I add to extend it without killing him?

2. OurJud

OurJud Contributor Contributor

I'm no doctor, but I think it's safe to say such a big trauma would put the guy on the operating table for at least 3.5 hrs.

If I'm wrong, just add 'complications'.

3. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Definitely multiple hours, probably longer than three or four. One thing that takes longer in trauma surgery is you have to explore to make sure you're not missing any damage, and the damage is usually rather ragged, unlike a surgical wound where you have nice clean straight edges to sew back together.

Sifunkle likes this.
  4. Robert_S

Robert_S Senior Member

5. Cave Troll

Cave Troll It's Coffee O'clock everywhere. Contributor

Where cushions are comfy, and straps hold firm.