1. Fazzio349

Fazzio349 New Member

Interesting power for person who hears voices?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by Fazzio349, Jun 6, 2019.

I'm a first time writer (with a lot to learn) writing a fantasy novel. The premise of this novel takes place in the "present" day where magic is pretty new and humans can only use enchanted objects. I want people to really feel bad for this main character. When he was young his parents were murdered. Everyone blames him for their deaths (father took a bullet while trying to save him). They never found the killers or why they attacked, so he vowed to join the magic police force to one day to find them and the truth. He joins. However, he hears a voice (or maybe voices) in his head and so, with magic requiring a lot of mental focus, has a hard time using it. Maybe it was all his life, maybe it's a new thing he's experiencing. Pour on some more bad luck, someone frames him for murder while on the job. The voice in his head lends him some power, and he ends up escaping from jail with someone who turns out is not from this realm and is here investigating a mysterious disruption in the magic energy force. The group he ends up with has powers like mind control, super strength, and fire manipulation, different from what he knows can be done.