1. Powka

Powka New Member

Ready to write!

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by Powka, Apr 19, 2013.

Hi everyone,

I came here seeking for advice.

I have finally written down my "novel" in the form of plain story, in Word. There's no dialogue, just "this happens, he says that, then that happens, she says that, etc." -- that type of thing. I believe I'm now ready to start building a novel out of this.

Would anyone be so kind an drop any links, or name of the books that would teach me how do I take that pile of "nothing" and construct a solid piece of writing out of it? I'm a bit lost on where to start now, how do I properly start, etc. It's not even the formatting of the manuscript, it's the whole manuscript itself. As might have guessed already, I've never written one. I hope you understand what I mean guys.

And another thing: I've never had a proper education in English, which isn't even my native language and I'm self-taught, so I'm slightly worried about grammar/style mistakes. Is it common for writers to use editors' services for their work to be looked at and edited before taking it to the publisher?

Thank you!

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Take time to envision your scenes

Hi Powka!

Just from reading your post here, I'd say you don't have a lot to worry about regarding your standard of English. Unless somebody else wrote this for you, I'd say you're doing very well indeed.

As to expanding what sounds to me like an outline of a story, I would suggest that you sit down in a very quiet place, free of any distractions, and imagine each scene. Put yourself into it. See what is there, listen to what your characters say to each other, watch what they do, envision what is happening around them when they do it. Take a LOT of time doing this. Hours, days, weeks, however long it takes to get a firm picture in your mind.