1. philtre

philtre New Member

Traditional short story publishing - rights

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by philtre, Nov 8, 2019.

hey folks :D

sorry if i'm publishing in the wrong place, but i'm a big newbie to publishing, which i've just realised is a lil bit of a disaster, considering how that's what i'm setting out to do soon!

from what i understand, when i publish a short story with a magazine, they buy the first serial rights, so the right to publish it (please correct me if i'm wrong). however, would said serial rights infringe on me wanting to publish said short story in my own book (collection of short stories) down the line? and is there anything i should look out for, in terms of rights, when choosing a magazine to submit too? and is this the same for poetry too?

sorry for the bundle of (horribly explained) questions! of course, the likelihood of my submissions being published is little to none, but i just wanted to make sure i covered all bases before i potentially got myself into trouble later down the line. and thank you to anyone in advance who can shed some light on what i seem to me making a dreadfully obscure topic!

p.s. completely unrelated, but, when you're submitting a short story to a magazine, do you have to use your real name, even if you want to be published under a pen name? and, if yes, how do you make sure the magazine publishes you by your pen name? thanks again!

Aceldama likes this.
  2. Cephus

Cephus Contributor Contributor

At some point, the publication rights will revert to you, after which you can do whatever you want. It depends on the contract and individual publication.

You can publish under any name you want, although they will need your real name to pay you and report taxes.

3. X Equestris

X Equestris Contributor Contributor

It depends on the publication. For example, the fantasy e-zine Beneath Ceaseless Skies purchases:

First World Serial Rights
    First World Electronic Rights