1. DappledEmber

DappledEmber New Member

Contractions, 1st or 3rd Person, Intimate Scenes, etc.

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by DappledEmber, Aug 30, 2020.

Hi Everyone,

I'm a complete beginner, trying to piece together my first book. It's taken me six weeks to reach twenty pages due to the following:

* I started writing in first person then changed it to third person as was struggling to show other characters thoughts and perspectives, etc. It's much easier now and flows better... but it was strange and distracting having to type out my own name and refer to myself in that way. I've decided to change my name in the book to make things easier and then correct it once the story is complete. On a positive note, writing in 3rd person has made it easier to be positive about my main character (me) without it sounding self-important, big-headed, etc. If you've experienced this, please let me how you handled it.

* I forced myself to avoid written contractions (they're, aren't, it's) if 'contractions' is the right word for it. I painstakingly typed out the full words instead (they are, are not, it is) but it felt tedious and went against my natural inclination. I went over everything again, reverting back to 'contractions' for the purpose of consistency in writing. Is there a rule to this or is it OK to just use whichever way of writing suites me?

* I become obsessed with perfecting each paragraph. It completely kills my creative flow. I've seen online that experienced writers advise on ploughing through, using highlights or side notes that you can come back to once you've completed the first draft. Problem is, by the time I've added a note, I may as well have just made the actual change. It's going to take a while but can't see another way around this, so just have to make do.