1. plante

plante New Member

Understanding the POV I'm Using

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by plante, May 23, 2020.

Hello everyone. I'm new to writing and am working on my first novel, a historical fantasy based in the 19th century. I've spent a good amount of time trying to make sure I have the POV within my story correct.

I'm using two different POVs based on if my main character is in the scene or not. Switching POVs is only done at the chapter level.

For any scene with my main character, my POV is limited third person, with depth of view changing slightly depending on the scene.

For scenes where my main character is not present, I think I'm using an omniscient but not certain, and I'm wondering if someone can confirm for me. I'd like to know if I am or not, so that I can better understand what I'm doing from a technical perspective. The narration I use in these scenes helps provide the reader with a sense of the room, elements or events that everyone in the scene would be aware of. I do not zoom into any individual persons thoughts or observations, only describing what is generally known to all. Even if I have a scene with two people, the narration is limited to the physical characteristic of the environment, never the individual person. I don't go into any knowledge of the world outside the scene, keeping it anchored as tightly as possible to the present environment. So, I feel this is omniscient, but just at a higher altitude. It's not really "God like", I believe, due to limitations I've imposed for the view. Is that correct?

Homer Potvin likes this.
  2. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor

It might be Objective POV. It's almost the inverse of Omni: you're never in anybody's head so the knowable universe stops before we reach the character level. Cormac McCarthy does it a lot.