1. themadhatterman

themadhatterman New Member

More notes than story

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by themadhatterman, Oct 14, 2014.

So, I currently have four works in progress (three too many, I know) that just I cant seem to get done. The first project is a novel that I finally decided to put on hold because I'm not experienced enough to do it justice. I put it on the back-burner and decided to turn a few ideas from my notebook into short stories for practice and what-not.

The problem is my short stories have turned into unmanageable monsters. My "novel" is currently 66 pages and roughly twenty-five thousand words.... of notes. Just notes. In fact it resembles a screenplay more than a novel. My short stories are suffering the same fate. They've become novellas of notes. How this character feels about that, how it will effect this character in the next scene, etc. I even note every single action a character performs in a scene. Its becoming a bit of a problem for my writing because when I sit down to work on a story I end up reading through my bible-size stack of notes to to refresh myself on the plot,character and every other detail I may have saved. By the time I'm ready to start writing again I've lost an hour or so of valuable time. And to make it worse, when I finally do enter "the zone" as I call it I start writing more notes!

Does anyone else have a similar problem or tips to avoid this? (besides the obvious stop writing notes)

Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
    Mckk and peachalulu like this.
  2. A.J. Pruitt

A.J. Pruitt Member

Hhhhmmmm, you read like a typical writer. Those notes could very easily be considered a rough draft of a future novel.

When I did the interviews for a well known name's biography, I had 174 pages of notes. From those notes. we ended with 287 pages of published biographical work.

What is thought to be mindless, gibberish scribble today could be tomorrow's best seller. Keep those notes.