1. Gilang Ridho Utama

Gilang Ridho Utama New Member

How to be motivated enough to continue writing my novel ??

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Gilang Ridho Utama, Dec 25, 2017.

Hello... I'm a student who also writes novel in my spare time.

Currently, i'm writing my first novel which is a "motivational novel", i can't really tell you in a more detail what is it about :D.
    I have a few questions related to the title...

1. I've been off from writing this novel for about 5 months... How to be motivated enough to continue writing my novel ??
    2. Actually, i've written around 50 pages-long for this first novel, but, it seems like i reach the "boring part" of this novel to be written... Actually, this boring part is quite important for the development of my novel character, but, i feel like, it's just ... So boring to write about this part ! So, how to get rid of this boredom when i reach the part that i think is boring ??

Feel free to give your advice, tips, opinions, suggestions, and experiences...
    Thank you for your time and consideration !!

crappycabbage likes this.
  2. crappycabbage

crappycabbage Member

Welcome to the forums!

1. A writer's motivation for starting and finishing a story is highly individual, I think, but your motivation seems to be tied to your second question:

2. When I find a chapter or scene boring it is my number one priority to make it "not boring". I've heard it said that if the writer is bored; the reader is bored. I don't know if that's necessarily true, but I can say this: A novelist spends a lot of time with their story, so to have a boring part in it won't help. It's definitely harder to revise and edit the parts you don't enjoy, so my suggestion would be to rework or rewrite that part.

Once you made it interesting, then the motivation to continue your novel might come floating back.