1. Nicholas C.

Nicholas C. Active Member

How to create interesting filler sections?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Nicholas C., Aug 10, 2011.

I'm aspiring to complete my first novel; I've been a shorty-story writer up until this point. My question is -- what do you do when you have scenes that come up a bit short? I'm sure most people will say to just tell the story and not worry about it. But if you have a goal of say 80,000 words, you obviously have to figure out something as far as adding more scenes or beefing up the scenes you already have.

I'm thinking filler sections could be used to develop my MC a little more, but I'm unsure of how to do it without really slowing the pace down.

2. Taylee91

Taylee91 Carpe Diem Contributor

What about throwing in another sub-plot?

3. minstrel

minstrel Leader of the Insquirrelgency Supporter Contributor

Do not "throw in" another sub-plot. Strengthen the scenes you have and keep the focus on the story you're telling. Go deeper, not wider.

What I mean is, don't add more events to your plot; you probably don't need them. Just describe each event in greater detail. Make your scenes more vivid, with strengthened characterizations, more compelling descriptions, more intensity.

Take a simple scene: Your MC is being fired by his boss. Some writers would deal with this rather important event in two or three paragraphs, but others could easily turn it into five pages or more without the reader ever feeling like the scene is dragging. It depends on the depth of your imagination. In the first instance, the boss says "I'm sorry, Bob. I have to let you go. Budget cutbacks, and you're the least productive member of the department." And that's about it.