1. JosephMarch

JosephMarch Active Member

Novel My book has no soul

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by JosephMarch, Mar 14, 2015.

I just finished reading a popular novel that was so wonderful and descriptive, not only of thoughts and words but feelings. I realized something about my own beloved book: it is missing heart and soul. That sounds cheesy, and it is, but it's also true.
    I love the book I wrote. I love the story. But it needs a lot more. It needs to conjure up more of what's in the characters' heads besides thoughts.
    I am new to writing, unless you count the writing done in school, but I am enrolled in a writers' workshop that I am excited about attending.
    Until then, any tips on how to inject some emotion? I feel silly even posting this, but am glad I was able to realize it now, when I can still fix it.

2. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

Do you have character arcs for your book? Like, do your main characters have something internal to overcome as well as something external?

I think it depends on genre, but often the internal conflict is the most important part of the book. Try to figure out how your characters' flaws interact with their environments and with the other characters, and how they change over the course of the story.

Maybe.

3. JosephMarch

Yes, they have obstacles to overcome. The book's main characters are 17, so there should be a lot of natural angst, feelings, and depth to them, as most teenagers are. But I don't have my main female character thinking about any of that. She is very concrete now, not very deep. I thought I was writing her deep, but no, no I wasn't. Not at all. I suppose I need to add more description, and that will help.
    I went back into my first draft and saw a note to myself in the margin of one scene: "but what is she FEELING?" (like I was playing my own English teacher for a minute).
    I suppose I should have written in it the margin of a lot more scenes.

4. Lotti