Tags:
  1. 90bubbel

90bubbel New Member

How to make my story longer

Discussion in 'Genre Discussions' started by 90bubbel, Mar 16, 2018.

So im fairly new to serious writing and recently started to try to write a horror book but even after writing a for while im still at only 2.5k words and im scared that the story will end way before the word count is roughly where i would want it (60-70k words) and i was wondering if you guys had any tips for making a story last long or if it just happens naturally as you continue to write your story

2. Alastair Woodcock

Alastair Woodcock Active Member

I wouldn't worry too much about the word count. Your aim should be to write a great story, not to write a certain number of words. You might even find it works better as a short story. My advice would be: Don't set boundaries, break them.

If you get stuck, you can always post what you've written here so advice can be given.

3. GlitterRain7

GlitterRain7 Galaxy Girl Contributor

If you're sure you want this story to be novel length, you need to have enough things happening that will make it novel length. If you need help with that, I suggest an outline. Even an outline with just a short paragraph of what needs to happen in each chapter will help. Also, check that you're describing things in enough detail.

izzybot likes this.
  4. John Calligan

John Calligan Contributor Contributor

You could try writing an outline for a book you know well, one that is similar in length and feel to what you want to write. That way you'll have a map for how much stuff happens. If the outline for your own story is coming up short, you can take a critical look at if it needs to be longer, if it is really that similar, or if you are glossing over dramatic and tense scenes you could put it.

5. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

You might be fine, as others have pointed out. Some stories work better as short ones.