1. ruskaya

ruskaya Contributor Contributor

how to "plot" for the emotional writer?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by ruskaya, Mar 21, 2020.

how to come up with a plot is something that has been extensively discussed everywhere, in fact there are many books, blog posts, website pages, etc., dedicated to that very issue . . . and yet, I found that none has quite worked for me.

I am a get-in-the-mood writer, for lack of a better description. When I get in a certain mood I find a voice and follow that voice into writing. The problem with that is I can't get from that mood into a clear story-long plot. The way "how to write a plot" are explained seem too logical for my kind of writing, and I find it difficult to mediated between the two. Any idea or experience you can spare on how to do that?

any advice of any kind will be much appreciated :supersmile:

2. jannert

jannert Retired Mod Supporter Contributor

Hi there! Welcome to the forum, by the way. I'm one of the moderators here.

I find your question interesting. It's kind of how I feel about writing. I did manage to finish a novel, eventually.

I just sat down one day and started writing. But I didn't start at the beginning of my story. Instead, I started by writing a scene I had strongly envisioned. The scene was just between two characters, and it was a few moments that they spent together, near the start of their relationship. I found it very easy (and fun) to write. And it got me started.

The scene allowed me to get a feel for the two characters and how they interacted. The story grew from there ...in both directions. It got changed a bit in the final version as well, but it's essentially the same scene. It helped me get a handle on these characters, and get a better idea of how they'd got to that point and where they were going next.