1. MC247

MC247 New Member

Punctuation How to punctuate / lay out non-reporting clauses within a block of speech

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by MC247, Mar 9, 2021.

Hi,

I'm not a professional writer, and don't claim to be a wiz at grammar / punctuation, so go easy :)

I'm wondering how I should lay out and punctuate non-reporting clauses (by which I mean clarifying / descriptive comments) interjecting a block of text where the focus is on a character speaking. For instance, where you might describe a gesture someone makes, rather than describing the way they said something. I've written an example below.

Should it be:

"But Dr Alexander, just what was it?"

"We may never know," the doctor frowned, "and perhaps it's best that way". He chanced a glance at the headmistress, discreet enough that the others didn't notice. "Anyway, I'd best be getting back to the surgery." His speech had quicked, betraying an anxiety to leave. "It was very nice to meet you all".

"Alright then," Tracey frowned, "I guess I'll see you there".

The focus is on Dr Alexander, so the Dr's speech, reporting clauses and descriptive comments are all contained within a paragraph.

Or should it be:

"But Dr Alexander, just what was it?"

"We may never know," the doctor frowned, "and perhaps it's best that way".

He chanced a glance at the headmistress, discreet enough that the others didn't notice.

"Anyway, I'd best be getting back to the surgery."

His speech had quicked, betraying an anxiety to leave.

"It was very nice to meet you all".

"Alright then," Tracey frowned, "I guess I'll see you there".

The descriptive comments have their own lines, but when it comes back to the speech, it isn't clear who is speaking, so if this latter example is the correct format presumably I would need to add further reporting clauses?

Appreciate any thoughts or constructive suggestions people have. Thanks!

2. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor