1. GuardianWynn

GuardianWynn Contributor Contributor

Publishing vs Content

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by GuardianWynn, Nov 17, 2014.

I have been learning a lot here and it is really helping me with this novel idea I had. I for the first time been writing real chapters(I normally right concept ideas). I was looking up content on here and noticed that a novel of the style I want to write needs a certain range to be easier to show publishers. I haven't ever written real material before, so I am no expert on exactly how it will go but wondering if it is bad to fluff your story for the sack of word count?
    The real funny thing is with my story I have plenty of content to actually take up the higher count, but I am nervous that showing too much at the wrong times will weaken the story.
    Not sure what to do.
    The basic context of this story is a villian(from my main story actually, does this make it a spin off?) is dead and in death reflecting on her life choices. So it constantly goes back to flashbacks. I could hang on certain flashbacks longer to fluff the count, but is that bad? Or is that how writers are suppose to work?
    Any advice would be valued. :)

2. A_Jones

A_Jones Member

First and foremost if you think adding will weaken your stories integrity then don't do it! That is if you plan on getting your story published. However it might be good to exercise your writing and attempt something a little thicker. I wanted to increase my story due to low word count and now I am dealing with it every day and I am not sure what to do.

Just a little advice.

3. GuardianWynn