1. Antaus

Antaus Active Member

Writing Proper Dialogue

Discussion in 'Dialogue Development' started by Antaus, Apr 8, 2018.

This is something I've wondered about in more than one fashion. I've been writing for some time, but I've never gone to college or taken any professional writing classes, so all of my skills in this area are self taught. Never the less I do plan to pursue this as a career (author) through professional education, so I'm always seeking to improve my craft.

1. Proper presentation of dialogue

I'm not entirely sure if a type of presentation I've been using is considered proper or not. I know people tend to use a wide variety of methods for this when they write, but I also know there are some standards and rules in this regard that most readers look for. In this case it's a person speaking, performing an action, and speaking again. Like so:

"I have absolutely no idea what you're talking about," Matt said. Turning to face Nadia he waved a hand. "I'm not getting involved in that either."

Some other questions regarding this dialogue presentation, is this stand alone in that you start a new paragraph afterward, or is it okay to keep writing?

2. Telepathic Communication

In this instance I've not really run into many standards in this regard. However I do write a fair amount of science fiction involving aliens, so telepathy happens. This is the usual format I use for telepathic communication between characters.

"Hey there Jeremy, how's your day been?" Sally said, walking up to the table.
    'Same ol' same ol' really, thankfully,' Jeremy thought.

I differentiate telepathy from normal speech both through italics, and the use of single quotes rather than double. Also I know some might point out this could confuse readers when it comes to internal dialogue. The thing is I don't really use direct mental speech in that fashion. For example: