1. nidge

nidge New Member

family relationships?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by nidge, Mar 11, 2015.

Couldnt find a thread directly relevant. My last novel was entirely unplanned and upon re reading I learned that my character relations were very weak. My new one is heavily based on a mother/daughter relationship and Im a bit apprehensve as I neither have kids nor am I a woman. My family experience in reality is also basically nonexistent.
    the relationship will also be a bit strenuous as the mother raised the daughter in complete solitude protecting her from the evils of dystopia. I guess what Im looking for are guidelines for ensuring a strong bond of kinship and how to balance a realistic level of love, trust, dislike, arguments, lessons, etc. A convoluted subject indeed but any input would be appreciated. I am very new to expressing relationships through the subtleties of action and dialogue.

2. nidge

nidge New Member

Forgive my cell phone grammar and text block

3. Catrin Lewis

Catrin Lewis Contributor Contributor Community Volunteer Contest Winner 2023

Well, you haven't had any kids, but you've been one. And even though your family experience may have been virtually nonexistent, you may be able to find a way in by thinking what you would like to have had from your mother as a child and write from there.

4. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Not enough to go on. It's like asking someone to define every word in the dictionary for them.

Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
    Catrin Lewis likes this.
  5. Ben414

Ben414 Contributor Contributor

Read other books or watch movies or TV shows with similar family structures. Read up on basic psychology around mother/daughter relationships. If you want your portrayal to be realistic, you're going to need to do some research. After you do some research and come up with more specific questions, the community can help you better.

6. KaTrian