Tags:
  1. ashtonelias

ashtonelias New Member

My story is set in the 1980s... but should it be?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by ashtonelias, Apr 26, 2018.

Hi all,

I have a story I’ve been working on plotting out for several months now. I’ve only actually written one page of it (after the story idea came to me on a drive, I went home and sat down at an old manual typewriter I’d recently bought and fixed/refurbished and wrote a page just to crystallize it as something I was going to pursue). Since then, I’ve been working on plotting it out and creating my cast of characters.

I don’t know why I decided to set it in the 1980s, exactly. Maybe part of it is that it felt “wrong” to write a story involving smartphones and modern tech on a 100-year-old typewriter. But then again, I kind of like the idea of not having to deal with texting and apps and GPS; I’m writing a mystery novel, and part of me feels like there’s more mystery to a world where we were less connected and where the world just feels larger because you have to go to libraries to find information rather than Google – where mysteries can’t easily be solved through hacking or following social media trails.

On the other hand, I don’t really have a strong justification for why the story has to be in the 1980s. The story would work set in modern day. I have, while plotting, added in some references and tied in some historic events in the city where the story is based, but the story doesn’t *require* these historic events; they could easily be worked around if they weren’t there.

I guess my question is, without the story being specific to the time (such as Stranger Things or The Americans, which clearly need to be in the 80s to work), should I continue with plotting and writing a story set in the 1980s?

Will editors and publishers frown on that? Would it be better if I switched the setting to present day?