1. CGB

CGB Active Member

How would you describe this character's voice?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by CGB, Apr 24, 2016.

So I have a character who is partially a robot. Her voice is very similar to EDI in this clip:

The way I describe it is, "electronically synthesized" and "heavily modulated." Not sure those 2 descriptions make sense to anyone except me though. I really do want to describe it if possible.

2. Sifunkle

Sifunkle Dis Member

I read your whole post before listening to the video, and EDI's voice wasn't what I expected from your description. (Grain of salt for what follows as I'm no expert on sound engineering.)

I'm unfamiliar with the universe of Mass Effect, but out-of-universe, EDI's voice is clearly a recording of a real voice, not something synthesised. I wouldn't call it heavily modulated either; in fact, I think it sounds very much like what you might expect from a human with perfect diction (ignoring opinions on accent, etc). In fact, I think they've done so many subtle tweaks with audio software to make it sounds 'perfect' (evening levels, flattening out natural spikes in volume, etc) that it now sounds 'too perfect' and has entered Uncanny Valley territory. As if whoever in-universe had made the AI's voice had prioritised clarity over realism.

So I'd focus on that. If you want ideas, my description would be something like 'A voice electronically polished to such perfection that all the humanity had been drained from it'.