1. Dnaiel

Dnaiel Senior Member

How would you tell an Artificial Intelligence why people matter?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Dnaiel, Feb 15, 2017.

I've been wrangling with this for a few years and I can't figure out how an AI will ever give a hoot about us. Even a fully formed strong AI. Just how can we make a machine care about anything? I think that to care about something requires a value system that overlaps with emotions. If it doesn't have any of that, I don't see how it will care about anything, including itself.

So, an AI that doesn't care about anything shouldn't react to humans as a threat, I suppose. Yet, if it's a strong AI, then how is it supposed to act on its own? Where will its impetus for anything come from? I can only imagine this twilight area between automation and human direction.

ETA
    I'm not writing a book for this. I'm starting a legit discussion, and so I put this in the Lounge.

Last edited: Feb 15, 2017
  2. ChickenFreak

ChickenFreak Contributor Contributor

You're assuming that it doesn't have emotions. Why not give it emotions?

3. big soft moose

big soft moose An Admoostrator Admin Staff Supporter Contributor Community Volunteer

In "the moon is a harsh mistress" Heinlein had the self aware computer "mike" motivated to want friends out of loneliness... being intelligent and self aware but not recognised by those around him meant that when the MMC Manny does recognise is self awareness mike views him as a friend

Iain Aschendale likes this.
  4. Homer Potvin

Homer Potvin A tombstone hand and a graveyard mind Staff Supporter Contributor