1. Sleep

Sleep New Member

Howdy! I have no idea what I'm doing.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Sleep, Sep 4, 2017.

Hello, I'm Robin!
    I am a freelance artist who has spent the vast majority of their life avoiding writing. My fears have led me away from creative writing for years and even within my art I struggle with self expression for fear of ridicule or imperfection. With writing I had always thought "If I can't do it right, why do it at all?", but through the years I have realised the only way to create something the way you want to is through failure. I will never be able to write creatively unless I try, make mistakes and learn. I have to study others, discuss my work and have space to grow as an author with other like minded individuals. I'm finally ready to hone my craft and start expressing myself.

I still struggle with my self confidence but I sincerely want to dedicate myself to writing. My knowledge of punctuation and grammar is very rusty so I hope you will all have patience with me as I relearn everything I've let slip over the years.

I look forward to getting myself out there and doing some non-stop self improvement. If anyone ever feels like having a conversation feel free to contact me. I'm always up for a chat with just about anyone about whatever is on their mind even if we haven't ever spoken. Thanks for reading my introduction. I'm so excited to get to know all the talented folks on this forum! :)

Lifeline likes this.
  2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

Howdy! Nor do I. Luckily, it doesn't seem to hold you back in this business.

Everybody's first draft of their first novel sucks. Like, really sucks. It's a rite of passage.

Cave Troll and Wreybies like this.
  3. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Welcome, Robin! :bigwink: