1. mc2147

mc2147 New Member

Human Interest Story - Mixed Martial Arts and Youth Crime in Hong Kong

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by mc2147, Sep 5, 2014.

Hi Everyone,

What are some reputable publishers of human interest stories? In particular, one related to youth crime in Hong Kong and Mixed Martial Arts training.

Here's the background info:
    I've been training with a guy at my Mixed Martial Arts gym for a few months and today I just found out there's a lot more to his history than he had let on. I asked about an oddly-shaped scar on his forearm and he told me it was the result of a two-on-one knife fight.
    Apparently, as part of the Nepalese minority in Hong Kong, he was involved in a heavy amount of street violence as a youth. He seemed pretty eager to share his story, so I asked him more about it and he told me about his violent, drunken youth and how that all changed when he started training MMA about a year ago (he's now sober and hasn't fought once outside the gym).
    He recounted the numerous stabbings that had led to prison time and the encounters and dynamics inside Hong Kong prisons. It was pretty fascinating stuff (not to mention a hell of an inspiring story), with a lot of cultural and socio-economic revelations, the "hidden" side of Hong Kong that most people aren't aware of.
    He's not a pro fighter or anything (he's only been training for a year), but he's dedicated and has serious potential to go somewhere in the sport. Now assuming that he's on board with the idea and is open to sharing his experiences, where would be a good place to submit this kind of story?

Thanks!
    mc2147

2. Nightstar99

Nightstar99 Senior Member

A martial arts magazine in serial form?

Hong Kong is probably the most middle class, least street crimey place I have ever been to though so I must say I am a bit sceptical. But a good story well told and all that...

3. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor