1. Rayo

Rayo New Member

MA or M.A.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by Rayo, Mar 14, 2012.

I've seen both M.A. and MA used on the web. A friend of mine proofread my paper and she changed my M.A. to MA, so that got me wondering if it matters at all. This is for an application that I am submitting by the way. On to my point...

I need admissions to know that I am a degree seeking student, but after perfecting my piece I do not have any room to write it as such. I have room to say something like this (made up for now): I plan to obtain an MA.

I want to know if there are any rules against writing MA or M.A. by itself without specifically writing MA in Writing or M.A. in writing. I also want to know if MA by itself stands, or does it look confusing and needs dots in between. Thanks so much. I know I didn't do the best job explaining.

2. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

it's easy to find this out by simply googling: 'MA vs M.A.'

that will give you citations from reliable sources much quicker than waiting for conflicting opinions to appear here...

3. madhoca

madhoca Contributor Contributor

There don't appear to be completely fixed rules about this. Both styles are used. It isn't even a US/UK thing, either. Although UK English tends to drop full stops in abbreviations while US English keeps them, e.g. UK = Mr Brown US = Mr. Brown, many US universities use MA instead of M.A., and some British universities use M.A.

4. digitig

digitig Contributor Contributor

Orpington, Bromley, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    There's a fashion to drop full stops in abbreviations, because it looks simpler on the page. If you want to be fashionable then write MA. If you want to be traditional write M.A. There isn't a "right" and "wrong", there are just stylistic preferences.

5. Rayo

Rayo New Member