1. _you_can_call_me_maria_

_you_can_call_me_maria_ New Member

Currently Reading::
    "Wanted hope" by Antonis Samarakis

I can't find a purpose for my story

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by _you_can_call_me_maria_, Dec 24, 2021.

So, I'm not a professional writer neither an amateur but, I recently found myself struggling with plotting my story. It's been a year since I finished my last "good" story and my mind has went blank ever since. I mean, I have thousands of amazing different ideas randomly popping up in my head but I just can't put them into one story or in seperate srories. I know who my characters are, I know what obstacles they will face but I don't know why. It's like I'm missing all of the backstory and I'm jumping in the middle of the story but I can't think of a "purpose" for my heroes. Earlier this year I wrote a story about a refugee who's "mission" was to settle in a european country. Some time ago I wrote a fiction story about a couple who's mission was to escape from some kind of prison. All of these stories had a beginning and an end but the ones I currently have in mind are a complete chaos. Ughh I'd like some help over here...

2. baboonfish

baboonfish Member

What length are you writing? I don't think a short story needs a purpose per se, just write and see what happens. If you're writing novella or novel length fiction then writing without purpose will probably lead to a dead end. My advice, if it's short then don't worry about it, write what comes and if it works it works, you can mould it into shape once the purpose reveals itself or stick it in the trunk.

If you want to write long form then I suggest forget about writing for a few weeks. Instead, read about and study story structure/plotting etc and let your mind percolate some ideas in the background.

Vaughan Quincey likes this.
  3. Catriona Grace

Catriona Grace Mind the thorns Contributor Contest Winner 2022