1. Morgan Stelbas

Morgan Stelbas Active Member

I can't seem to follow my own outline. Does anyone else experience this?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by Morgan Stelbas, Jul 31, 2020.

I'm an unpublished writer. And I've never thought my work was good enough to even consider being published.

However, about six years ago, inspiration struck me hard and I wrote an outline of a story that I felt strongly about. I then wrote the 210,000-word story in a couple of weeks. Shortly afterward I thought maybe I should look into getting it published. So, I looked around and stumbled on this site. I then spent a few months reading and learning, and asking and reading some more on this site. One of the many things I learned was that my story was way too wordy and thus too long to be considered by any publisher, especially as a first-time author.

So I went back to the drawing board and re-worked it. I lessened it down to about 95,000 words and then had some friends read the draft. I got good reviews, but while waiting for their responses, I couldn't just sit still and wait, so I kept writing, starting on a sequel to the story. I completed the sequel and then realized there were some things I should change in the first story to add more to the sequel.

I went back to the drawing board again, wrote a third outline, and this one is so totally different from the original now, which means the sequel needed to be re-worked for the third time. I got frustrated and abandoned the project for over two years. My reviewers haven't seen the story since and now they wouldn't recognize it at all if they read it again.

My teenaged nephew is writing stories, asking me to critique his, and this ignited the spark in me to work on my own story again. But, I keep making more changes. Every time I think I'm done and go through it to edit it, I end up finding ways to better link the characters to the plot, and to add more suspense but veering from my outline.