Tags:
  1. jim onion

jim onion New Member

I Don't Know Where I'm Going Wrong

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by jim onion, Jun 1, 2018.

I'll *try* to be brief and get to the point, but fair warning: I have a difficult time doing that.

At least I've got beyond the point where my hypochondria had me thinking I must be a psychopath or just have a single digit Social-IQ because I'm not good at creating characters.

An interesting comment in another thread went something like, "My characters arrive, or otherwise come to me, including their backstories." It stood out to me because this is often how my ideas for stories come to life, at least in terms of plot, setting, and so forth.

But characters? I'm missing something. Now I know how it feels for the people who can't come up with ideas for a story. I didn't understand how that could be possible. But, it would seem that things have come full circle, because that's my experience with character building, or developing.

I'm not talking about the more superficial (although still important) elements like names.

I... I don't know what it is. I'm so lost that I actually can't really identify the problem. At *best* I can have a decent, albeit rough, idea for a character in my head but I simply cannot bring them to the page for the life of me.

I'm having difficulty getting out of my own head, I think. How I think, and my personal experiences, are getting in the way and so every character starts to just feel more or less the same. The only exception I've been able to find is with the narrator (and main character) of my short-story Madame Latrodectus. I wrote that character when I was in a particularly cynical, resentful mood. But I didn't plan him out ahead of time. That was all stream-of-consciousness pantsing.