1. KaceyFarley

KaceyFarley New Member

Why am I obsessed with my character?

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by KaceyFarley, Nov 10, 2016.

Hi Writingforums. I'm a writer and overall a creative person but there's something that's been bothering me a LOT lately.

I have a very old character who I feel very attached to and he's pretty much the first character I made and he is a human character as well. I draw him a lot. People tell me he's cute looking and also pretty unique looking as well. This character is important for a novel I'm working on.

The character (who, oddly I never gave a solid name that I recall) has a sad backstory. He's married to his wife and loves her, but people get jealous of him (the fact he was a half Arab didn't help people disliking him too) Anyway, a gang surrounded him and killed him. A while ago (after I posted to some forum describing my character and how I felt about him) some people made a fake article about his death but they gave him a different name, the wife's name was the same though. This 'article' said my character was a psychotic pervert, raped and killed several little girls and boys that he was supposed to look after, and he was shanked to death in prison.

It also said he was abusive towards his wife and made her sleep on the floor. This actually really upset me and I had nightmares about it even. The article had all kinds of gory details. Whenever I post a drawing of him, these two people keep bringing up his name, calling me a troll asking why I liked to draw/was obsessed with my rapist character so much and how it's disrespectful. They don't call him by his actual name but by the name that article gave him.