1. ColdReverie

ColdReverie New Member

I need a slap and a kick in the rear

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by ColdReverie, Jan 23, 2019.

I need motivation. And a right telling off.

I have always loved writing. No matter how self-critical I can get, it is something I take enormous pleasure in, and I someday hope to write a novel. After recently finishing a 10-stage chronicle which I posted daily on Facebook, I was astounded by the response of friends who asked me why I wasn't working on a novel already. I thought this was finally it - the push I needed to get down to it and start developing a writing habit.

This was all during the holidays, however. As before, work gets in my way (I am a teacher, which means working late in the evening), and I find it difficult to establish a routine. Most of my free time is spent reading or away from the computer, which I have started associating too much with lesson preps and corrections, and when I write something (on average once a week), I feel as if it's a mere pebble in an ocean.

How did you go about developing your writing routine? What do you typically write about every day? How much did you feel you had to write to begin working on your novel? Please send your advice (and abuse) so I can finally give myself the slap I deserve for letting this drag on for so long.

2. peachalulu

peachalulu Member Reviewer Contributor