1. Miranda Ricouta

Miranda Ricouta New Member

I suck at summaries. Can somebody help?

Discussion in 'Blurb Critique' started by Miranda Ricouta, Feb 7, 2017.

Hiya! Title is pretty self-explanatory, but I'll elaborate.
    TL;DR: I write fanfiction, can't draw in readers with my summaries, am working on my first original book right now, and would like some advice.

I'm primarily a fan fiction writer. I've been on FanFiction.net since I was a kid, and writing for years has really helped me to improve. I'm working on my first original series now, which I plan to self-publish.

Summaries, however, are not my strong point, as I've come to realize from my near complete and utter inability to draw in readers as of late. FF.net has a 384 character limit on summaries, and I often can't get all of my thoughts out with that small of a space. Then when I'm given the freedom to make my summaries longer on sites like Wattpad and AO3, they're way too long winded, and I'm sure most of the people who see them disregard it with a TL;DR.

I've been experimenting with different kinds of summaries, and few have been successful. Sometimes, when a story has a very basic concept, I can write a short and eye-catching summary that works well to catch the reader's attentions.
    Here's the summary of This is Your Life:

Sunset Shimmer always wondered what would have happened if she had stayed in Equestria. She never thought she would actually get an answer.
    That story actually got a decent amount of attention.

I also tried the "pull a quote from the story" approach, and that seemed to work pretty well.
    Here's the summary from It's Obviously 42:

"Have you ever wondered about the meaning of life?" "Pfft, obviously. I mean, hasn't everybody? But... What were you thinking of?" Star and Janna go on a journey to discover the meaning of life. Life is not the only thing they find the meaning of.