1. Greenwood

Greenwood Active Member

Idea for a SF story, yay or nay?

Discussion in 'Science Fiction' started by Greenwood, Feb 16, 2016.

Hi all,

I have had this idea for quite a while now, and am not sure if it would be any good in terms of originality or "feasibility". It will be stalled anyway, since I'm still in another WIP, but I've written a scene or two and quite like the concept of this. Also, I am no scientist, so I have no idea if this idea is feasible at all. It's still a bit small and underdeveloped as a premise for a story, but what do you think about this little synopsis?

"In the first few years of the 22th century, scientists have developed an implant that can cleanse the human brain receptors, bloodstream and system of any traces of psychoactive drugs in an instant. While the CoreTech corporation publicly admits to their research and development as a means to treat Earth's rampant drug addiction and organized crime, the project is secretly funded and observed by the U.S military who want to deploy it on the field of battle, hoping to create a "super-soldier" that can boost his performance with substances such as cocaine and amphetamines at will, without any drawbacks."

2. Davek74

Davek74 New Member

I like the idea, in principle, but I'm also unsure what the drawbacks would be. I suppose the main drawback about using drugs to enhance performance is there will be a side effect, which in your story wouldn't be there.

I'm not an expert but I think your idea would benefit from some "what if" scenarios to develop it and create something original (super soldiers and humans mark 2, 3, 4 etc have all been fine before - doesn't mean it couldn't be interesting though )

What if the use of drugs activated centres of the brain, enhancing certain emotions (empathy would be an interesting conflict in a soldier) or