1. IDontDrinkKoolaid

IDontDrinkKoolaid Member

I'm bad at descriptions (creatures and people)

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by IDontDrinkKoolaid, Oct 29, 2017.

I have a problem with describing objects and creatures in a natural and attractive way, I always end up with very disconnected or awkwardly connected sentences. This is particularly frustrating because I enjoy writing about weird and fantastical creatures, and I really value giving the reader a clear view of what I'm talking about.

Although I enjoy writing and write a fair bit of non-fiction, I'm new to creative writing, and I seem to have two big problems: the first is the subject of this thread, describing things like creatures and people, and the second is describing action as it happens over time. I've always been a fan of the writing style of the Silmarillion, where the stories are written as if someone was telling a story, instead of it happening in front of us (I never really enjoyed that kind of storytelling, it always feels like I'm reading bad erotica, or something), and that's the approach I take to ameliorate the second issue; the first, however, I can't seem to find a way to fix. Every time I try to describe a creature, for instance, it ends up reading as a list of physical traits, and anything I might be tempted to add to embellish it will only come out as unnatural and awkward - filler, basically.

I read a lot of non-fiction (mostly philosophy), but not a lot of fiction, since I don't like most fiction out there; I enjoy storytelling a lot, however, and I really want to become better at writing my own stories. I think I'm ok when it comes to non-fiction and even the telling of the story itself, but as soon as I attempt to describe something physical, I turn into a 5 year old with the writing skills and eloquence of a potato.