1. saldanamoreno

saldanamoreno New Member

So...What's next?

Discussion in 'General Writing' started by saldanamoreno, Oct 3, 2020.

I made the decision to get back into writing last year. No, not just to get back into it but actually become a professional writer, tired of my career in the medical field I wanted a change.

First step; write.

I got that down so far, been writing short stories, editing a few things. It's not much but it''s a start.

Now what?

What's next? I'm trying to work out a plan. Deciding between teaching myself the craft, or going back to school (again).

Has anybody here made a career from writing? Any advice?

Has anybody had to change careers midlife? I'd be interested in hearing your thoughts as well.

2. ISalem

ISalem Member

I am not in a writing career. I do a free writing where I write on my own at my own pace. For me, it's my favorite hobby. I write because I love writing. I write becuae I am a creative writer. Since I found out that I love writing and I am a great writer, I never stopped writing. I think writing career could restrict a writer it terms of what to write and how to write it, which is not my favorite.

For you, what next now?
    The first step is to write, and write more, as you mentioned you got that.
    Joing a writing forum where to be surrounded by other writers is a good step to keep you well motivated for writing.
    Another further step to take is receiving reviews and getting fedback on your writing from other writers is a well-taking step to take you to the next level.
    Also, reading for creative writers opens up the mind on new writing styles and different structures of writing which is a good step to keep you up.

3. Aceldama

Aceldama free servant Contributor

Currently Reading::
    The bible