1. BrendaR

BrendaR New Member

I'm New with a Question

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by BrendaR, Mar 19, 2018.

Hi All

I just signed up and am posting this question to get some ideas. Hopefully, this is the right place to post.

I love to write, but I have problems with writer's block. I find that when I write a lot, I do better as the creative juices start flowing. However, I inevitably hit a brick wall because it seems like every story I write sounds the same. It's not the same words, characters, or plot, but it just "sounds" the same to me.

I don't like how that sounds and don't know how to break out of it. It seems if I could do something completely different, it would spur my creative impulses, instead of squishing them.

Is this a somewhat common issue for newbie writers? Are there techniques to get past it?

Any advice or tips would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Simpson17866 likes this.
  2. Simpson17866

Simpson17866 Contributor Contributor

Hi, New With A Question! I'm Dad :)
    I would recommend Writers Digest's "Tips for Finding Your Own Writing Style." Writers generally have a recognizable style, so is it possible that what your specific writing style is like right now is more of a problem for you than the fact that you have one?

Last edited: Mar 19, 2018
  3. BrendaR

BrendaR New Member

Wow. That makes sense! I'll go study that article.

Many, many thanks.

4. BrendaR

BrendaR New Member

5. GlitterRain7

GlitterRain7 Galaxy Girl Contributor

If you're starting all these stories and not finishing them, is it possible you let the writers block get the best of you because you haven't found a story or genre even that you're really into?
    If all your stories are the same genre, maybe you should go out of your comfort zone a little. Try a new one.