1. Masked Mole

Masked Mole Senior Member

Writing Center Experiences

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Masked Mole, May 14, 2016.

Hey All,
    I'm a Writing Center consultant at my university, and it's a weird job.
    There's always some in-duh-vidual making things interesting. For instance, there's this one client who reads over his material like it's a dramatic stage production. He treats edits so seriously. I heard him begging for mercy because he messed up a definite article or something. This is actually kinda refreshing, and he's a good guy.
    In contrast, you get the psychos who book an appointment with you every week but never show up. Not only do they waste the consultants' time, but they block other students from getting help. Bonus!
    Then there are the appointments where a guy comes in with his 25 page senior thesis. Somehow, he got this far in his academic career without being able to form a sentence. You have to break it to those people gently.
    The consultants have recently agreed on an informal title for the Writing Center: Tutor Town. It's going to be a hit series on Nickelodeon.
    Did any of you have a job like this? Have any of you been a client?

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

My university didn't have anything like that, but I'm not surprised by your post. Another student asked me to look over her assignment and I was shocked. It was like a creative writing exercise, written in an almost chatty tone with honest to god clip art as some kind of decoration. And she was by no means unintelligent, or one of the worst in the class.

I do something sort of similar for my day job, in that I check and edit client documents before they go out. Some of my colleagues, native English speakers with degrees, can't string a sentence together. It's depressing.

3. Wayjor Frippery

Wayjor Frippery Contributor Contributor