1. vlizotte

vlizotte New Member

Improving my English Second Language

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by vlizotte, Sep 20, 2008.

Hi!
    English is my second language and I would like to improve it. I am pretty good (I have been writing in English for the last 5 years and I have been told on numerous occasions that I was better at writing in English than a lot of people born and raised in the language). No idea if this is true or if people are just nice, but I do know that when I get my work proofread it is usually not too bad. I also know that I am too advanced for all English second language courses offered at the local community college. I considered taking English courses (the one for native speakers), but I am not sure they will meet my needs. I mean those courses won't explain what each English speaker knows, but is not familiar to me because it is my second language. Idea anyone?

2. Rei

Rei Contributor Contributor

My suggestion would be, like you're doing now, make it known that you want to improve your English, practice by posting written work here and we can focus on correcting your grammar and syntax and stuff like that.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Also, get as much exposure as possible to films, TV, and books. That will give you more exposure to idiomatic and dialects, and the audio-visual media will help with fine points of pronunciation (importamt for poetry, especially).

4. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor

you don't seem to have any trouble with grammar, so i suspect it's only general english idiom and regional usage that still holds you back... in which case, what cog advises is the best course to take...