1. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor

In-progress writing portfolio

Discussion in 'Progress Journals' started by deadrats, Aug 23, 2017.

I'm a full time writer. Occasionally, I sell something. So, of course, I have to have some shorter things I can sell (or pathetically try to) while working on my novel. It still feels weird to say I'm writing a novel. But that's a different story for a different thread. Anyway, I'm wondering how many of you juggle writing projects. And how do you do it? I worked for years as a freelance journalist and was always juggling news stories and deadlines. But this is different with more creative projects, I think. I've got my novel and a few short stories at various stages all needing some more work before they're ready for submissions and two essays in the works. My essays seem to sell much easier than anything else I write these days. And let's not forget the screenplay... Wait, I totally forgot about my unfinished screenplay until just now (LOL). I think I've traded in the screenplay for a tv series. I'm just trying to write the pilot. And maybe if I don't feel like getting out of bed I will spend the day writing sestinas. I have a hard time working on the same thing for more than three or four days until I feel like need a break from it. And there is always something else I can turn to. Usually, though, I work on more than one thing in the same day. I spent the morning writing my novel. This evening I will go over a short story. That kind of thing. I can't afford to put all my eggs in one basket. How many things are you working on? I just don't want to feel like I'm crazy for having multiple projects. Progress does get made and things do get finished. This isn't a problem of starting a million things and finishing nothing. I think the kind of writer I want to be writes all these things, maybe. What does your in-progress writing portfolio look like?

VynniL likes this.
  2. big soft moose