1. Alessandro

Alessandro New Member

Inept Would-Be Author Wondering About Publishing

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by Alessandro, Feb 29, 2012.

Hello, I am both new to these forums as well as the writing industry.

I am an aspiring author with little to no experience, and I've got a few general questions when it comes to publishing which I'd be happy if anyone took the time to answer. I've got more or less a novel manuscript ready but I am not sure how to approach publishers etc.

Is there anything I should really think about when submitting my manuscript, such as some form of letter of introduction or some way of presenting the manuscript? Are there some basic mistakes that I should avoid? What is the more common method of submitting a manuscript, electronically (like sending them the text file) or just sending them the actual physical printed manuscript? And no matter which method, is there actually any chance of fraud (providing my novel was good enough to risk that) and a risk of someone actually stealing it?

If there is something additional information you need to know outside of what's been written, just say, because I'm kind of inept when it comes to these kinds of subjects and any help given would be truly appreciated.

Thanks.

2. GeorgiaB

GeorgiaB Member

I am no expert myself, but I have learned a ton from internet searches. Agents have websites that detail what they are currently looking to represent (so you'll know if your manuscript is right for their particular needs) and they include exactly how they want it to be submitted. (I've been looking at Young Adult Fiction agents, and the majority of them have gone green and prefer an email with a query letter in the body of the email.) Search under "query letters" because it is extremely important to get that right. I literally just read a book on the topic, and the thing is about a page long! You might want to purchase a current Writer's Market for answers to your questions.