1. GB reader

GB reader Contributor Contributor

Inner thoughts, syntax.

Discussion in 'Word Mechanics' started by GB reader, May 25, 2017.

(Having read the thread on italics and thoughts, I will not use italics).

As a non-native beginner my stress level drops as soon as I type a quote, now, someone is talking, it needn't be syntactically correct, only natural.

How about thoughts, I'm sure I think at least as incorrect as a talk, probably even worse.

But if we are not using italics then the text looks as narrative text and my reading-brain suddenly apply much stricter rules.

Below is present, third. I use the pronoun to indicate that the last sentence is Sara thinking.

“I’ve seen you in school, what's your name?” he says.
    “Sara, Sara Remmert.”
    “So I was wrong, I guessed on Jenny.”
    Did I get that right? did he say he guessed? who is guessing names! blue, his eyes are blue.

So, that last sentence, question marks do I need them, should the next word be capitalized, are inner queries rhetorical? Can you use incorrectness to indicate thoughts?

Go.

2. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

“I’ve seen you in school, [comma splice... some people do use them in dialogue but beware some of us will still see it as a mistake] what's your name?” he says.
    “Sara, Sara Remmert.”
    “So I was wrong, [comma splice] I guessed on Jenny.” ['Guess on' isn't something I've ever heard someone say.]
    Did I get that right? did Did he say he guessed? who Who is guessing names! [I think "Who guesses names?" sounds more natural.] blue Blue, his eyes are blue.

This reads more like a stream-of-consciousness style than 'just' thoughts. I don't read books in that style so if someone who does comes along and says different to me, listen to them instead! But from my position of ignorance I can't see why the rules of at least capitalisation wouldn't still apply.