1. The95Writer

The95Writer Active Member

Inspiration from another book or movie?

Discussion in 'Plot Development' started by The95Writer, Feb 4, 2014.

Can I make a novel (or novella) inspired by another book or a movie? Or related to it somehow?
    I am wondering if it is 'aloud to base another book idea around an already published story or movie released, but of my own perspective.

2. Passero

Passero Member

Isn't that just Fan Fiction?

3. The95Writer

The95Writer Active Member

Haha, I never new there was an actual term for it. I am new to book categorization.

• Is it legal?
    • Would I have to not refer or mention characters in the source of inspiration?
    • Can I put at the beginning of the book, 'Inspired by [Insert Name]'?

4. rasmanisar

rasmanisar Active Member

Bad idea unless you have no aspirations of ever being published. The exception is satirical versions of the same book, but I suspect that's not what you have in mind.

5. Robert_S

Robert_S Senior Member

If it's still in copyright, no.

6. Wreybies

Wreybies Thrice Retired Supporter Contributor

Well, inspired by is a very different creature from related to or based on. You're going to have to give us a better picture of which of the three is really in play. My own current work is inspired by a scene in a film, but that's where the similarities end.

7. mg357

mg357 Active Member

I have gotten a lot of inspiration from other books and movies and even music as well.

8. Passero

Passero Member

Don't we all draw inspiration from books, movies, everyday events,...?

How many books were released about a young boy learning to be a wizard after the success of J.K. Rowling? That's all fine.
    If you on the other hand started to make a spin off book telling the story about a classmate of Harry Potter, that's a different thing.

9. mammamaia

mammamaia nit-picker-in-chief Contributor