1. PsiLens

PsiLens New Member

A futuristic material to make spaceship hulls and power armor out of?

Discussion in 'Research' started by PsiLens, Jan 12, 2020.

Technically, I could just borrow some vague, stock sci-fi term like "durasteel" or something and leave it at that, but I didn't want to do that. As a hard sci-fi fan, I like to think up tech that actually makes sense. So even if I did end up calling my future armor material "durasteel", I still want to define what exactly it is.

My first thought was to have it be some kind of nanocomposite. Maybe ceramic nanofibers embedded in a matrix of high impact-strength steel, hence, "durasteel". But then, I considered that using a titanium alloy as the matrix might be a better idea, since it would be lighter which is an important factor in spacecraft and wearable armor.

Then I came to the realization that I am by no means a materials engineer and I'm going solely off of a layman's knowledge. So if anyone who's more knowledgeable in this matter could pitch in, that would be neat.

2. JLT

JLT Contributor Contributor

Vibranium?

And I was going to add "transparent aluminum" as seen in Star Trek IV, but I recently read that there is now actually such a thing. It's not practical, but Scotty hasn't had any input to it yet.

Seriously, unless it's important that the source of the material be credible, I'd just hand-wave it. It's a given that there are going to be technologies and alloys which are unknown to us now, just as we routinely use stuff that was unknown to people five hundred years ago. If your characters take the existence of such a substance as a fact of life and go on with it, I'm sure your readers will, too.

3. Naomasa298

Naomasa298 HP: 10/190 Status: Confused Contributor

Spider silk is up to 5 times stronger than steel for the same weight, and up to 10 times tougher than kevlar.

Cave Troll and Some Guy like this.
  4. Homer Potvin