1. karldots92

karldots92 Active Member

To Pseudonym or not to pseudonym

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by karldots92, Sep 16, 2016.

Not sure if this is the right place for this question but something I've been wondering is how do people decide whether to use a pseudonym or not. I read somewhere that a lot of people who have a presence online other than as a writer use a pseudonym to separate them from their other online persona.

I work as an Engineer but I have a presence in some professional forums as myself so I was thinking as a writer whether I should use a pseudonym and I was just wondering what other people felt on this. Also my real name doesn't sound very author-like so I think it'd be better if I did change

Do other people use pseudonyms? If so how did you decide what to use?

2. Shadowfax

Shadowfax Contributor Contributor

I'm sure that Mr. & Mrs. Dots92 would be turning in their grave to discover that their son, Karl, is too ashamed for his writing to be credited to his real name.

3. karldots92

karldots92 Active Member

Yes I do realise my username here is not particularly original or mysterious and its not that I'm ashamed more that my name doesn't roll off the tongue like a lot of authors.

4. Tenderiser

Tenderiser Not a man or BayView

I use one because my real name is unique--I'm literally the only one in the world.

I'm not that good about keeping them separate (I keep replying to author emails from the wrong email inbox!) but it seemed like a pen name was the sensible thing to do.

Catrin Lewis likes this.
  5. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

I use pseudonyms. Usually a version of my real middle name plus either a family name or a name from the place I grew up.

You can get them from anywhere - just play around and see what you come up with.

6. Elven Candy

Elven Candy Pay no attention to the foot in my mouth Contributor