1. Jupie

Jupie Senior Member

Size for a Kingdom / other names?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by Jupie, May 1, 2017.

Hello all,

There is very little world-building in my current novel which may be a problem, though it's mainly because I don't wish to get too bogged down with detail and more interested in the storytelling.

That said, I need more clarification with describing the different kingdoms as it is a story about princes. The key dynamic here is that there are other Kings in other lands and so they all share this fictional world that I've created. However, I'm aware that a kingdom is very large, perhaps even more so than a country, and as people can travel between kingdoms in a week or more the word 'kingdom' may just be too big. So I thought I'd pick your brains and ask for your knowledge on this as I am very new to all of this.

I suppose 'country' could work, it's not uncommon that there are various kings across a known world. But I was wondering if there are better terms which describe a fairly large stretch of land containing cities and rural areas but not so big that there can't be other places not ruled directly by the King. Sorry if I'm not explaining myself better, but any background on this would be very helpful.

It is a fictional world but basically very similar to our own. That's mainly why the world-building is less important. It's supposed to be familiar but different as I'm not trying to write a historical novel or describe real places.

PS: I have googled this and there is some information but it's much better to have a discussion and see what knowledge people have as you guys are often quite well informed.

Thanks!

2. Elven Candy

Elven Candy Pay no attention to the foot in my mouth Contributor