Tags:
  1. MrGazbill

MrGazbill New Member

Can't decide what perspective to write from

Discussion in 'Character Development' started by MrGazbill, Dec 26, 2016.

I have an idea for a novel about a mutiny on a ship. It's basically how one person was swayed to partake only to be saved by the person he was trying to overthrow. I'm trying to decide if this should be written from first person. I thought maybe journal entries only? Is this a bad idea?

I'm very new to writing pieces like this and not sure which way will be most captivating.

2. MusingWordsmith

MusingWordsmith Shenanigan Master Contributor

First of all, welcome to WritingForums! Hope you have fun here. :)

To answer your question, what 'feels' the most right to you? Journal entries might be a cool and fun way to do it, yeah. But, again, does it feel right?

Just go for what feels right, and if it doesn't really seem to work, then change it! You're allowed to do that. ;)

3. MrGazbill

MrGazbill New Member

Thank you very much for the response! I will give it a go. I think the journal entries feels right. The story has a more deep personal meaning I think would come across well with that perspective. My only fear is the descriptions of what's going on may lack.

I agree, try it. Change it if it doesn't seem to be working.

Thanks again for the welcoming and the response!

4. exweedfarmer

exweedfarmer Banned Contributor

If you don't know ships, don't bother. If it's a big ship and you don't know anything about command, don't bother. Read the Hornblower series by C.S. Forrester and go rent the Cain Mutiny. First person is hard to do. Everything I've written from that perspective ended up in the trash... and rightly so.

5. ddavidv

ddavidv Senior Member

Maybe try writing a chapter or two from different perspectives, then see which one has the proper feel to it.

6. EdFromNY

EdFromNY Hope to improve with age Supporter Contributor