1. JosephMarch

JosephMarch Active Member

Young Adult?

Discussion in 'Children's & Young Adult' started by JosephMarch, Mar 30, 2015.

Trying to decide my genre.

My story spans 20+ years, starting when the MC is 17. The bulk of the book is when she is a teenager. It is a love story/coming of age/finding oneself book.
    Is it considered YA? Or just plain old fiction?

Thank you.

2. GingerCoffee

GingerCoffee Web Surfer Girl Contributor

Sounds YAish. What happens when she's 37?

3. BayView

BayView Huh. Interesting. Contributor

It spans 20 years, so the MC would be 37 when it ends? Doesn't sound like YA to me. If it doesn't fit into some other category, then, yeah, I'd say it's probably general fiction.

4. NiallRoach

NiallRoach Contributor Contributor

I'm not an expert on YA, but if the majority of the book occurs when she's a teenager (which you've said it does), and it deals with typical YA themes (again, which you've said it does), and it's intended to be read as a YA book, then it's a YA book.

I add the last one because target audience can't be forgotten. My most recently finished novel(la) centres around a trio of teenagers, but I'd never peg it as YA because it's not written for young adults; it's written for everybody (well, excepting children).

What happens when she's 37? If it's simply a flash forward at the end for the character to say "Look how I was changed by the events of the book", then that's much less a problem than if the final confrontation and resolution happens when she's that old. That's not to say that the latter would be a deal breaker, though.

5. Mckk

Mckk Member Supporter Contributor

to some extent I think it depends on how you write it too, the kind of tone/voice of your book. It's not just to do with simpler language and the perspective of a younger mind, but kind of the way themes and events are approached and the overall... colour of the book, if that makes sense.

123456789 likes this.
  6. 123456789