1. Ivana

Ivana Senior Member

Publishing contract - need help

Discussion in 'Marketing' started by Ivana, Oct 24, 2015.

Hello, fellow writers!
    I'm a Serbian writer who writes in my native language and I always wanted to publish my book abroad (due to the lack of a developed publishing industry in my country). So I stumbled accross a certain German publisher who publishes couple of writers from this part of the world (because they have translator and are willing to translate books they like into German language). Without proper translation (which I can't afford at the moment) I knew I don't stand a chance of finding an agent or a publisher, so I literally put all my eggs into one basket and decided to submit to them (after all, German market is much larger than Serbian). I sent them my manuscript and, despite all the odds, 4 months later I got a positive response and a contract!
    Obviously, I was very happy, and still am, because it showed me that I have a book of a publishable quality, and, the most important thing - they think it's sellable.
    Now, the problem: they are a small publisher and they only sell e-books as well as licences to the other publishers. They exist for couple of years so they don't have many books published so far. And there are some issues I have with the contract. I'll put them here and I would appreciate more experienced, published writers to tell me their opinion about them.
    1. I'd give them the right to publish my book, sell licences etc. for the period of 10 years. So it's not a lifetime contract. Plus, during this time they would try to find a print publisher for my book, as well as to translate it into other languages. They also demand all movie and other multimedia rights.
    2. Now I'll quote the royalties part:
    -The publisher shall pay to the Author a licence fee of 25% of the sale proceeds of all downloads of the work (not sure what this means). Is it a fair amount?