Tags:
  1. J.D. Ray

J.D. Ray Member Supporter Contributor

Is it good or bad to post a critique that essentially says, "I couldn't read it"?

Discussion in 'Revision and Editing' started by J.D. Ray, Jan 29, 2019.

I'm relatively new to this forum (four months or so), and have done what I could to provide decent feedback on the pieces I've read here, even when I thought the piece was severely amateurish (I'm no pro, either). But some pieces are so bad that I can't get past the first four lines or so. I don't want to write a scathing review and throw a wet blanket on someone's ambitions, but part of me wonders if people need to hear this sort of feedback.

There's another thread here where the OP was lamenting that people were too busy correcting his (?) grammar to tell him whether or not the story was readable. People piled on and told him he was out of line for saying such a thing, and their time to correct grammar was worthy, and he should be thankful. I agree with them, but as far down the thread as I read (it was pages long, and I didn't expect a change in theme), no one had said, "I disagree with your premise, but agree that aspects beyond grammar are valuable to give feedback on as well." One of the big bits of feedback I look for in my writing is whether or not anyone cares about my characters, my settings, or the story in general. I, however, greatly appreciate grammar catchers, because I consider myself to be pretty good at it and REALLY appreciate it when people catch me out. More than grammar is readability of sentences; too long, too short, too boring, full of gerunds...

But I'm deviating from my own original question. Is it good or bad to say, "I couldn't get past the first few lines and stopped reading all together"?

jimmyjones, John Calligan and jannert like this.
  2. deadrats

deadrats Contributor Contributor