1. vyleside

vyleside New Member

Describing buildings: Is it necessary?

Discussion in 'Setting Development' started by vyleside, Sep 8, 2008.

I'm currently working on writing a novel. Right now, I'm writing a section that's describing an old news report that takes place outside a police station. I'm torn between describing the building (which I am terrible at, as I have no knowledge of architecture) or just describing it as a "police station".

If I go with the former, I can imagine readers getting more confused at my clumsy attempt at describing the building, whereas if I go with the latter, readers will instantly be able to imagine what a police station looks like.

The downside for me is that by avoiding the issue, I know I'll get tripped up later on when I'm trying to describe a pretty important building to the story.

So, two questions:

1) Do you feel it's better to sometimes bypass complex descriptions in favour of letting the reader create their own image (especially when it's a common object).

2) Do you have any tips/resources that will help with describing buildings? I'm using this picture as my point of reference for the station: http://www.you-are-here.com/building/police_station.jpg. How would you describe it?

2. Nilfiry

Nilfiry Senior Member

Well, if anything is going to happen there, you'll have to describe it, but if nothing happens in or around it, then just stick to police station.

1.) YEs, but only if the entire story would be better that way.
    2.) No, Sorry.

3. Cogito

Cogito Former Mod, Retired Supporter Contributor

Only describe what is necessary for the purposes of the story. Let the reader's imagination fill in the majority of the details.

4. tehuti88

tehuti88 New Member