1. mashers

mashers Contributor Contributor Community Volunteer

Is it worth trying for traditional publishing?

Discussion in 'Traditional Publishing' started by mashers, Jul 17, 2017.

I want to traditionally publish my novel. But I have never published anything before. I have read the guides on this site and some others, but have also read that agents won't consider unpublished authors. Is it worth me trying for traditional publishing, or should I just accept that this is not likely to lead to publication of my novel and self publish?

Sorry if this question has already been asked. There is a lot of information out there, and I'm feeling really confused about what is the best way to go. I'm far from finished with writing even my draft, so I know I shouldn't get distracted by this just yet. But I need to know that there is a realistic goal of getting my story out there somehow to keep me motivated.

2. GuardianWynn

GuardianWynn Contributor Contributor

I am no expert. But I have some general advice for just being around here so long.

Both options are great but they have pros and cons.

It really depends what your goal is. If you want to be success in the terms of money? Publishers are indeed a better way for that in my opinion.

They are established. They have connections. They know what to do because they have done it. And they take all this headache off your hand for a fee.

But you are a risk, and they won't take the risk if they don't feel it is worth it. And that means your work has to meet there standards and look like it will appeal to a current market.

I imagine it would be really hard to get a letter saying. "We think your work is great but we don't currently see a market for it at this time." But that can happen too.